Johnny Ray Turner

turner web 1

State Senator, District 29

Floyd, Harlan, Knott, Letcher

Senator Johnny Ray Turner was born in Paintsville, KY, on Dec. 19, 1949. He attended Calvary College in Letcher County before receiving his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in education from Morehead State University.

Senator Johnny Ray Turner was selected by his colleagues to serve as Caucus Chair during the 2019-2020 biennium. This is the second time he has served in this role for the caucus.

An educator for 28 years, Senator Turner taught at Salyersville High School in Magoffin County, McDowell Elementary and High School in Floyd County, and Johnson Central High School in Johnson County, where he also served as dean of students. In addition, Senator Turner is a long-time basketball coach, having been named the 15th Region “Coach of the Year” for his work in leading the Johnson County Golden Eagles to the regional title in 2000.

Senator Turner is the former president of the McDowell Jaycees and a member of the Kentucky Gamma SAE fraternity.

Senator Turner has sponsored successful legislation to expand affordable housing opportunities and give fair treatment to teachers and other school personnel for the time they work.

Senate 2001-present

Interim Committees
Appropriations and Revenue; Budget Review Subcommittee on General Government, Finance and Public Protection; Budget Review Subcommittee on Postsecondary Education; Budget Review Subcommittee on Primary and Secondary Education; Education; Energy Special Subcommittee; Natural Resources and Environment; School Finance Subcommittee; Transportation

Session Committees
Budget Review Subcommittee on  Education (S); Budget Review Subcommittee General Government, Finance and Public Protection (S); Education (S); Natural Resources and Energy (S); Transportation (S)

Statutory Committees
School Safety Task Force

Contact Information
Frankfort Office: Capitol Annex, Room 254, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601
Frankfort Phone: 502-564-2470